×
Menu

Permissions Management



From Version 5, Bp Allied has a new way of managing user permissions. This is done via Roles that have specific permissions or rights assigned to them. There are a number of default roles built into Bp Allied that can be used as is or they can be adapted to suit.  This can be accessed via System > Manage Permissions or System > Options > User Administration > Permissions. To restrict a User from parts of Bp Allied a Role must be created to reflect these access permissions. That role can then be assigned to as many Users as required.
 

Permissions Assumptions

Client Lists
  • are based on whether a user has View or Edit permissions. If they have neither, then that client will not be displayed in their list
  • If Options > Client Details > Include inactive clients in Client List is ticked then these clients will displays based on the relevant permissions
 
Reports
  • Clients are all displayed based on permissions for the practitioner running the report - if they can View or Edit the client demographics then they can see the client in the report.
  • Permissions 1016 overrides this assumption above and will run reports based on All Clients regardless of the users Client Permissions
  • Custom reports are run independently of client permissions.
  • Task Master Report - System Admin can see all tasks, other practitioners can see their tasks and any for their allocated Clients.
 
Invoicing
  • Invoicing List is based on whether a user has View or Edit permissions
  • Exception - 3rd Party Invoices will show ALL client names that relate to the invoice
 
 
Permissions Management
1

Search for a permission

1. Search for a permission
Allows a permission to be searched for
2

Defined Roles

2. Defined Roles
Bp Allied provides some defined roles to enable setting up permissions to be easier. New roles based on these can be added.
 
These are:
  • System Administrator - By default there MUST always be one user set as the System Administrator, if there is only one User then this will be the role that is set. This user has access to all functions in Bp Allied and the permissions set against this role are unable to changed.
  • Office Manager - Access to all functions except Manage users and Custom reports
  • Reception - Access to see all Clients but unable to view History or Consultation details, can run all reports (except custom), unable to delete documents, phonecalls/emails or Clients, can merge all Client info into letters, can change Client Practitioner and Administer Calendars.
     
    There are three default practitioner related roles, each with an increasing restricted level of access to Client data.
  • Practitioner (All Clients) - Practitioner is able to access all Client information including demographics, history and consultations for all Clients. Enabled permission are 4001, 4003 and 4021
  • Practitioner (Own Clients - All Consults) - Practitioner is able to access Client information including appointments, demographics, history and consultations for the Clients that the practitioner is assigned to only. If a client is shared between multiple practitioners then this practitioner can see Consultations by those other practitioners too. Enabled permissions are 4005, 4007 and 4022.  If viewing the consultations carried out by other practitioners for their clients is required then permission 4010 rather than 4007 must be enabled.
  • Practitioner (Own Clients - Own Consults) - Practitioner is able to access Client information including appointments, demographics, history and consultations for the Clients that the practitioner is assigned to only. If a client is shared between multiple practitioners then this practitioner can NOT edit or view Consultations by other practitioners. Enabled permissions are 4005, 4009 and 4022
 
All of the Practitioner Roles are restricted from the following: running financial reports, processing refunds, deleting referrers or editing products and services, no Administrative Access (5000 Series) except Change Practitioner if they are the Primary Practitioner.
 
3

Permission Row

3. Permission Row
Within each role are a series of permissions that are set in a pre-defined state based on the type of access for that role. These permissions can be changed by ticking or unticking the Permitted check box.
 
Details of the individual permissions can be viewed here for Client Access and here for all other permissions.
5

Add Missing Client Access Records

5. Add Missing Client Access Records
Used to update the Client Access table with any Client records that may be missing
6

Reset Permissions

6. Reset Permissions
Used when the Client Access permissions for a Role are changed so that the access against each Client in the Client Access table is updated.
 
 
There are three options:
Preview changes - shows which Users will have updates and how many
Reset, exclude manual updates - runs the update but ignores any manual changes made to a Users Client Access permissions
 
If selected, the following message will display to notify the user of the changes being made
 
The Administrator password must then be entered to make the change.
 
 
Reset All - updates a Users access to mirror the access set for a role and over writes any manual changes made.
 
If selected, the following message will display to notify the user of the changes being made
 
The Administrator password must then be entered to make the change.